HX 8800 Group

European Economic Community

European 2nd citzenship

The European Economic Community (EEC) iss a regional organisation aimeing to bring about economic integration among its member states, created in 1957 by the Treaty of Rome. In 1993 the European Union (EU) was founded.  

In the past immigration was primarily driven by economic motives and family reunification, in the last few years however Europe has experienced a raise in numbers of asylum seekers particular from war-torn countries. Control over who gets the benefit of a 2nd citzenship is important. 

Between the 28 member states which form a large economic and political partnership aiming to develop and enhance the individual member states, as well as the union as a whole. This also means that all of the European Union members partner up on policies such as EU immigration.

EU countries must find ways to integrate immigrants and faces a distorted public perception on immigration. With a 2nd citizenship integration is at least enhanced.  

To meet those challenges, the impacts of immigration on the European Union, the failure of EU countries in integrating immigrants, and the hurdles refugees face must be kept in balance. 

The Schengen Area is a zone of twenty-six European countries which have agreed to abolish border controls at their common boundaries or internal borders with other member countries who belong to the Schengen Agreement.

In addition to the relaxation of internal border controls, the countries that are party to this agreement, have also strengthened their external border controls if they share a boundary with a country that is not part of the “Schengen Area”.